Theft & Theft By Check Defense

Theft and theft by check (also referred to as “hot checks”) are two of the most common cases filed in Central Texas. If you have bounced a check or have an unpaid check and are being charged with or investigated for this kind of fraud crime in the state of Texas, it is recommended that you hire an experienced defense lawyer immediately.

San Antonio theft by check attorney Tylden Shaeffer understands that unforeseen circumstances or bad bookkeeping may lead to a check becoming unpaid. We also understand that there are several instances as to why a check may become unpaid that are not considered criminal in nature. Tylden will discuss your theft/theft by check case with you to determine the optimal course of action for your defense.

Theft by Check in Central Texas

In Texas, if you are charged with theft by check you may be charged with either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances and the amount of money in question. Either charge may result in the following sentences:

  • Class C Misdemeanor: if the check is less than $20, this is punishable by a fine of up to $500.

  • Class B Misdemeanor: if the check is valued from $20 to $500, this is punishable by a fine of up to $2000 and up to 180 days in county jail.

  • Class A Misdemeanor: if the check valued from $500 to $1500, this is punishable by a fine of up to $4000 and up to 1 year in county jail.

  • All checks that exceed $1500 are felony offenses and are punishable by at least 2 years in prison, in addition to fines.

White collar crimes lawyer Tylden Shaeffer will review the charges against you and investigate your case thoroughly to ensure that the proper steps were taken that resulted in you being investigated or charged with theft/theft by check. Remember, even though your case may only involve a bank overdraft, the charge is still “theft”. Protect your reputation, and your future.

 

For a Free Consultation, Contact Tylden Now